All you need to know about your driving licence...

Find Out More

We all carry our driving licence in our pocket each day, but do you know what the categories on the back mean? Did you know if you hold a standard driving licence, you can drive a tractor?

There is a whole host of different driving licence categories and each one means something different. See below what vehicles you can drive with a standard licence and the ones you need to take a specific test for. Please be aware the categories below are for the United Kingdom.

The photocard driving licence explained:

Your driving license includes your surname, first name, date, and place of birth (1,2 and 3). The date the photocard was issued is 4a and the date the driving licence expires is 4b. 4c is the authority that issued the license, in the UK this is the DVLA. 5 is your own unique driving licence number (which is needed for car insurance). 6 is your photograph. 7 is the holder’s signature which is embedded within your photocard. The holder’s address is number 8 and number 9 covers the categories your licence covers.

Categories on the back of a driving license.

If you have passed your standard driving test, you can also drive the following vehicles:

  • AM: Two or three-wheeled vehicles that have a maximum speed of 25km/h.

  • B: Drive vehicles up to 3,500kg with eight passengers and tow a trailer of up to 750kg maximum authorised mass.

  • fkq: Qualified to drive a tractor, a pedestrian-controlled vehicle or mowing machine, and a two-wheeled or three-wheeled vehicle without pedals with an engine size of 55c.

Standard UK driving test: A driver must have applied for a provisional driving licence and be 17 years old. Standard driving tests include two elements. Firstly, the theory test. The test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions on the Highway Code and a series of hazard perception videos. Once passed, you can go ahead and book your practical (if your instructor thinks you are ready). The practical test is around 40 minutes, and you will be asked a ‘tell me’ and ‘show me’ question. Additionally, you will be required to complete a manoeuvre and potentially an emergency stop. Once passed, apply for your full UK driving licence and start driving!


Other driving licence codes, which you must take a specific test for:

  • B1: Four wheels up to 400kg or 550kg with goods.
  • B auto: An automatic car.
  • BE: Drive a vehicle with a 3,500kg trailer.


  • A1: Motorbikes with an engine up to 125cc and power of 11kW.
  • A2: A1 + Motorbikes with a power output of 25kW.
  • A: A1 + A2 + a power output of more than 35kW, including tricycles with a power output of 15kW.

Medium-sized vehicles:

  • C1: Drive vehicles between 3,500kg and 7,500kg MAM.
  • C1E: Drive C1 vehicles with a trailer over 750kg. The weight must not exceed 12,000kg.

Larger vehicles:

  • C: Drive vehicles over 3,500kg.
  • CE: All vehicles in category C with a trailer over 750kg.


  • D1: A minibus that is no longer than eight metres or more than 16 passengers, option to tow a trailer of 750kg.
  • D1E: D1 vehicle but with a trailer over 750kg MAM.
  • D: Drive D vehicles with a trailer over 750kg.

For further information on specific tests, please see visit:

Want to know more?

Complete the form below to request further information.

  • One Required
  • One Required
  • Optional
  • Optional
  • Optional

The personal details you submit through this form will be handled and processed in line with our Data Privacy Notice.